The Inquiring Reader
Reviews, critiques, and thoughts

N.K. Jemisin

  • The Obelisk Gate

    In the second installment of N.K. Jemisin’s Broken Earth trilogy, a Fifth Season descends on the Stillness. Essun must defend her comm from a siege while her daughter, far across the continent, must discover the extent of her innate power.

  • The Stone Sky

    In the final book of the Broken Earth Trilogy, Essun realizes that her daughter seeks to destroy the Earth to end the endless suffering of Schaffa, the Stone Eaters, and all humanity. Essun rushes across the world to stop her, but Nassun refuses to listen to the woman that left her all alone in this cruel world.